The Higher Perspective!!

Vikita Padaliya
2 min readOct 15, 2017

--

One fine day at my office, I was reading a newspaper in the morning.

Engineers were about to come. Some engineers were coming and a few were greeting me for the morning.

I observed that one engineer was sad even it was just the morning and he was yet to have any bad experiences.

The day should be started with freshness and hope but he was sad so I thought it is not normal.

I let him get comfortable at his desk and then I casually asked if something is not right and why he looks sad.

He said, “Ma’am, I’m not happy with my work at the job. I do not feel valued and I spend the whole day doing programming.”

“I see! What else do you want to do? Would you like to learn any other skills?” I asked.

“No, ma’am. I know programming and most of the time, I like it. But I find it boring sometimes,” He said.

I smiled and sat quiet for a few moments.

Then I said, “Look at your work from my perspective: You are extremely important and skilled person for Project X. The Project X is client’s brainchild and he values our company just because you have been doing a good job and the client is in the process of achieving his dreams through this project! You are not just a programmer but you are a ‘Dream Shaper’ for the client!”

A new hope filled his heart.

His face could not stop smiling and he said, “Ma’am, I never looked at my programming work from this perspective. Thank you so much for showing me the higher perspective!”

“Higher perspective is very interesting and now I won’t be just writing the code as a programmer but I will be shaping someone’s dreams – that’s so interesting and fulfilling.”

With a smiling face and sense of acceptance of his work, he left my cabin and resumed his work.

This is exactly what I wanted! 🙂

In our day-to-day life, we often fail to look at our work from higher perspective. It is not our fault but we are never taught to look at things this way.

The higher perspective can give a lot of confidence though which we can solve a planet of issues and problems that come our way.

My engineer learned this, why can’t you?

--

--